Waldos, Miranda top MILO Davao leg

SONNY Waldos and Judelyn Miranda stole the limelight by winning the male and female 21K runs, respectively at the close of the 38th National MILO Marathon Davao City Eliminations, Sunday on an out and back course which started at the Roxas Avenue grounds.

Waldos clocked one hour, 13 minutes and 56 seconds to emerge on top of the winner’s podium plus a ticket to the 42K National Finals this December 7 at the Mall of Asia in Manila. Waldos was followed by Michael Jan Echalico (1:15.17) and Gilbert Maloyo (1:18.11) who wound-up second and third places, in that order. Both also earned a slot to the national finals.

Miranda had her winning ways in the distaff side clocked at one hour, 33 minutes and 53 seconds on top of Madelyn Carter (1:49.39) and Daisy Joy Dayondon (1:58.02).

On the other hand, top three winners in the 5K men’s division were   Erwin Gubal (18:37), Richard Oliamot (18:47) and Daryl Mark Daban (18:46); women’s division – Meagey Ninora (21.23), Rosenelyn Depillo (23.12) and Angelica dela Cruz (23:19). For the 3K run they are – men’s division: Jimboy Er-Er (10:24), Jet Lee Hinlo (10:35), Hylier Iting (10:45); women’s division: Emmalyn Taypin (11:01), Ruby Cabonoc (11:26) and Ynah Ybanez (11:29).

Special awards were also give to Daniel R. Aguinaldo National High (Biggest Delegation – 2,114) and Holy Cross of Davao College (Fastest Delegation – 24:42).

Some 9,000 took part to join the annual marathon in which Milo Sports Executive Andrew Neri and Davao leg race organizer Kenneth Sai of Vantage Sports awarded the winners in grand rites after the run. 

Posted in Sports