Torres stamps class in comeback race

MANILA, Philippines – Willie Torres marked his comeback with a dominating performance, ruling the fifth leg of the Yokohama Philippine Grand Touring Car Championships Series at the Batangas Racing Circuit recently.

The defending GT300 champion Torres cashed in on the absence of Japanese international driver Kunihiro Iwatsuki, who begged off due to a prior commitment, paving the way for the former’s smooth, pressure-free run in the morning Sprint race and the GT Main Race.

He bested Ramil de Vera and Edwin Rodriguez for top honors in the event which served as part of the Eneos Philippine Motorsports Championship season sanctioned by the Automobile Association Philippines (AAP), and sponsored by Yokohama, the official tires and Sparco.

Driving at a top speed of 1:50.775, Torres completed the nine-lap Sprint Race a lap ahead of his two rivals to capture the premiere GT300 plum. De Vera finished second and took the GT100 title over Rodriguez, winning by just 0.222 of a second.

Despite the runner-up finish, Rodriguez still moved up to second overall in the battle for the Yokohama Grand Touring Car Driver of the Year with 154 points behind Iwatsuki, who has 180 points.

Should Iwatsuki fails to suit up anew in the season finale, Rodriguez would need to put up a strong finish or finish ahead of overall third placer Patrick dela Rosa, who has 135 points, to snare the coveted plum.

The final leg of the Yokohama Philippine Grand Touring Car Championships Series will be staged alongside the FIA-sanctioned Formula 4 Southeast Asian Championships powered by Petron, the official fuel, this weekend where the country will be represented by Angie King and Gabe Tayao at the Batangas Racing Circuit.

Posted in Motoring