SCENE CITY| Who’s the next Happiest Pinoy?

One-million pesos cash prize awaits the grand winner of the Search for the Happiest Pinoy 2014. The country’s leading micro financial company, Cebuana Lhuillier, gathered the members of the media on Jan. 7, 2015 at the Pinnacle Hotel to launch the search which is back with a wider scope, new special awards and even bigger cash prizes.

The P1-million cash prize will be tax-free, while nine runners-up will receive P50,000. There will also be prizes for the Happiest Student and Happiest Overseas Filipino Worker.

Michael Sena, Cebuana Lhuillier’s Integrated Marketing Communications Group head, said: “With our Search for the Happiest Pinoy, we want to recognize outstanding Filipinos who are able to both rise above life’s challenges and positively impact the lives of other people with their positive outlook in life. He added, “This is our way of celebrating the values of optimism and hope among Filipinos”.

Isaac Galang hosted the media launch, while keynote speaker was Richard Villaseran, public relations manager of Cebuana Lhuillier.

Filipinos, 18 years old and above, with good moral character can be nominated to the search. Nomination forms can be downloaded from and are available in any of Cebuana Lhuillier’s more than 1,700 branches nationwide, to enable more people to nominate their happiest Pinoys.

The nominees will be screened by the Happiest Pinoy board of judges composed of CNN 2009 Hero of the Year Efren Penaflorida, Camarines Sur 3rd District Representative Maria Leonor Robredo, Mcann Erickson chair emeritus Emily Abrera, Assistant Secretary Ann Corominas, Cebuana Lhuillier Insurance Solutions (CLIS) general manager Jonathan Batangan, Happiest Pinoy grand winners Winston Maxino and Rommel Arellano, inspirational speaker and corporate trainer Francis Kong and broadcast journalist Luchi Cruz Valdez.

Since its launch in 2009, the search for the Happiest Pinoy has been awarded to two deserving individuals. Winston Maxino, a corporate executive who was diagnosed with Ankylosing Spondylitis, a degenarative and incurable bone disease, was declared the first Happiest Pinoy grand winner in 2010. Rommel Arellano, a guidance counselor who was afflicted with polio at age 1, was declared Happiest Pinoy in 2012, besting more than 13, 000 nominees nationwide.

This year, Cebuana Lhuillier is taking its search for the Happiest Pinoy to different schools and offices nationwide to get even more nominations.



Posted in Lifestyle