TURNING golden or fifty years in existence is  quite an achievement for an organization composed of women helping women and girls improve the quality of life through education, health and various advocacies.

On April 17, 1966, erstwhile Girl Scout of the Philippines National Executive Mariquita Castelo arrived in Davao with Soroptimist International of the Americas South East Pacific Director Luna Baten, and together they ushered the idea and spirit of Soroptimist. On June 02, 1966, the Soroptimist International of Davao was chartered with 18 of Davao City’s business and professional women executives as charter members.


SI Davao Delegates to the 25th Biennial Conference, SIPR on May 26-28, 2016 at Manila Hotel – 50 –Year Old Club Awardee – SI Davao

Fifty years later, the love affair between organization and members remain wholesome and strong and has yielded a variety of significant achievements, among them the hosting of several SI Philippines Region Conferences in Davao City, sponsored and chartered eight Soroptimist Clubs in Mindanao and chartered two Ventures Clubs. It was the first Soroptimist Club to acquire its own building in 1978 that became the venue of meetings, project implementation and income generation.

Last May 27-28, SI Davao joined SIPR in celebrating the Golden Anniversary Celebration of the mother club, having been founded on the same year as SI Davao. This was held at the Manila Hotel with the theme “50 Years of Service and Beyond.”

Last June 03, SI Davao held its Golden Anniversary celebration and Installation of Officers for 2016-2018 at Marco Polo Davao with the theme “Fifty Years of Davao through the Eyes of Soroptimist.”

Elected officers are: Teresita C. Borillo, MD – President, Jocelyn Romero –1st Vice President, Myrna Lim –2nd Vice President, Past District Director Girlie Piccio – Recording Secretary, Emeline Uy-Tesy – Corresponding Secretary, Past President Marilou Z. Ong – Treasurer, Viola Sevilla – Asst. Treasurer, Past President Salvacion Leuenberger – Auditor and Ma. Lourdes Roque -PRO.

Board of Directors: Mila Teves, Josefina Tionko, Socorro Oesterdal, Rosalie Russel and Evelyn Lavina.

Members include Past Federation Director Patria Garcia-Montemayor, Past District Director Adelina Royo, PDD, Ma. Lita Montalban, Luz Acosta, Fely Mahani, Past President Rosvida Dominguez, PDD Virginia Montenegro, PDD Linda R. Aquino, Mal. Luisa Sian, Veronica Alvarez and Marilyn Cabiles.

Congratulatory Messages were delivered by Myra Valderosa Abubakar – Outgoing SIPR Governor and Ma. Rosario A. Tumaneng – Incoming SIPR Governor.


Pic 1- SI Davao Delegates to the 25th Biennial Conference, SIPR on May 26-28, 2016 at Manila Hotel – 50 –Year Old Club Awardee – SI Davao

Pic 2A and 2 B – Installation of Officers 2016-2018 during the SID Golden Anniversary Celebration at Marco Polo Hotel

Pic 3 – SID Outgoing President Evelyn Lavina & Ma. Soledad M. Tugade -Sampaguita Society Chairperson

Pic 4 – SID Incoming President – Tess Borillo, PP Socorro Oesterdal

Pic 5 – SI Davao Delegates pose for a souvenir photo

Posted in Lifestyle