John Paul II bags 6th CEAP Minda Games hoop crown

JOHN Paul II College of Davao stood high on the winner’s podium after claiming the 6th CEAP Mindanao Games men’s basketball crown of the tertiary level played recently at the Ateneo de Zamboanga University gymnasium in Zamboanga City.

John Paul II College of Davao, better known as the Saints outplayed all their rivals to sport a 3-0 win-loss card enroute to the title of the tournament which followed the single-round elimination/final format.


JOHN PAUL II COLLEGE OF DAVAO SAINTS Team John Paul II College of Davao “Saints” led by headcoach Howard Delgado (center) pose for posterity after reclaiming the crown.

The Saints which represented Region XI won its second CEAP Mindanao Games crown under headcoach Howard Delgado. Their road to the title first came off an upset win over defending champion St. Columban College of Pagadian which represented Region IX, 68-66 then followed it up with a 60-46 victory over Father Urios Saturnino University which represented Region XIII.

Their victory that concluded a sweep of their rivals saw over ARMM representative Notre Dame College of Jolo, 99-77 that reclaimed the title which was last won in 2015.

The Saints are composed of Dariel James Bayla, Marlon Oring, Al-Rashid Indin, Kenneth Jay Sanchez, Paulo Abad, Kim Rosique, Warren Quitoriano, Kim Joseph Mundiz, Ryan Jessie Gavilo, Rico Quiamco, John Rashid Hebaina, Julius II Pacanuayan, Clifford Occena and Philip John Ferriols. The Saints team owner and School President is Ernesto Evangelista and Executive Vice President April Evangelista.

Posted in Sports