Gavino-Gotan pair tops 25th Durian Tee

THE PAIR of Enrico “Jing” Gavino and Ryan Gotan submitted better cards to emerge as the overall team gross champion at the close of the Durian Tee Invitational golf tournament 25th edition at the Apo Golf and Country Club grounds.

Gavino continued his winning ways at the all-weather course located at nearby Bago, this city with 69 Stableford points while Gotan added 65 for their 134 total which edged the pair of pre-contest favorite Vincent Gumapac and Ronald Galicia (68-65-133) who settled for the first runner-up honors.

Sportsman-businesman Leo Yap along with Chris Tan placed third with 123 (62-61) while Elmer Basilla and Benhur Villarosa had 115 from rounds of 57 and 56, in that order for fourth place.

Second District Councilor Diosdado Mahipus also made his presence felt along with partner Randy Arevalo for winning the overall net crown with 164 (88-76) while Joni Santos and Mackmond Mending settled for the net first runner-up honors with 159 (83-76) via countback over the pair of Virgie Hermiston and Richard Band-ang (70-89-159).

Lawyer Manuel Nitorreda and Marte Velasco completed the team winners with a third runner-up net finish with 155 (75-80).

Gavino also had his winning ways in the individual category by capping the gross title in Division A with 68 leaving past closest foe Joel Yayamin (67) for the runner-up honors.

Danny Nagayo (77) also shared the limelight by winning the Division A net crown while Roderick Lo had 75 for the runner-up finish.

Other individual category winners saw: Class B – Lorenzo Castro 55 (gross champion), Jojo Simbulan 79 (net champion), Randy Cadiongan 55 (gross r-up), Conrado Pude 78 (net r-up); Class C – Romy Garcia 44 (gross champion), John Gross 88 (net champion), Rodrigo Sy 44 (gross r-up), Joni Santos 83 (net r-up); Ladies Division – Gema Bokawachi 44 (gross champion), Josephine Vergara 80 (net champion), JM Balbuena 43 (gross r-up), Park Ok Hee 75 (net r-up); Seniors division – Alex Sy 52 (gross champion), Greg Jabonillo 81 (net champion), Soc Cadayona 51 (gross r-up), Felix Enofre 78 (net r-up).

Special awards also were given to Tsikoy Saavedra (longest drive – 274 yards), Albert Cainghog (accurate drive) and Apo Luna (nearest to the pin – six inches).

Tournament chairman Edwin Cayamanda along with committee chairman Mario Luis Jacinto and Gerry Romero Salas awarded the winners with their respective trophies and prizes at the awards night held at the Philippine Women’s College Convention Center.



Posted in Sports