Five rain gauges to be installed across Reg. XI

THE DEPARTMENT of Science and Technology in the region will be installing automated rain gauges this quarter in five areas identified by the Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa).

Jonathan Victolero, DOST XI science research specialist overseeing deployment of early warning systems, said these areas are Sitio Butay, Barangay Tapak and Damilag Elementary School, Barangay Damilag in Paquibato District; Barangay Teresa, Maco and Barangay Anitapan, Mabini in Compostela Valley; and Eden Bayabas, Toril in Davao City.

These rain gauges, which cost about P90,000 each, will be mounted in school areas which have teachers expressing interest in introducing the tech and science of the equipment to their students.

“These equipment are under projects of DOST’s Advanced Science and Technology Institute that aim to enhance capabilities in observing, collecting, and transmitting environmental data,” he said.

Automatic rain gauges are developed to gather and record the amount of rainfall and automatically send data, via text message, to a central database serve on predetermined time periods.

He said these equipment help in disaster management and mitigations of the government.

Aside from these rain gauges, Victolero said that there are currently 71 operating automated weather stations throughout the Davao Region.

These weather stations are equipped with different sensors capable of measuring wind speed, direction, air temperature, humidity pressure, rain amount, duration, and intensity. Each automated weather station costs P260,000 to mount.

Water level monitoring stations, likewise, help in measuring rate of water levels in key areas in the region, helping the department in its efforts to prepare and response for disaster. Budget to mount these equipment are sourced from the DOST central office.

After the first quarter, DOST is also set to launch an information and education campaign and flood drill  in Talomo as part of the launch of a new early warning system that allows the department to coordinate with local disaster offices and provide them with data generated by DOST equipment.

This untitled program will deploy 30 early warning posts throughout the Davao Region. Each will have its own sensors, siren, speakers and light.

Last weekend, Pagasa placed nine provinces in Mindanao under Storm Warning Signal Number 1 as tropical depression “Auring” intensified, affecting Agusan del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Surigao del Norte, Dinagat Province, Misamis Oriental, Camiguin, Davao del Norte, and Compostela Valley (with New Bataan and Mangayon identified as critical areas).

Posted in Latest News