DAVAOEÑO filmmaker Jarell Serencio won the Best Short Film Director in this year’s Metro Manila Film Festival for his short entry, Mga Bitoon sa Siyudad on Thursday at the Kia Theatre.


The film follows two young brothers who are searching the hard earned money they accidentally lost amidst the crowded Roxas Night Market when a bomb exploded in the city.


DAVAOEÑO filmmaker Jarell Serencio with this Best Short Film Director award

The short is currently showing at Gaisano Mall Cinema 5, as pairing film in the full length entry, Oro.

The entry Sunday Beauty Queen was named the Best Picture during the Gabi ng Parangal

Sunday Beauty Queen, which follows overseas Filipino workers in Hong Kong on their Sunday activity, is the first ever documentary to make it to the festival and thus is also the first documentary to win the Best Picture Prize.

Paolo Ballesteros won the Best Actor award for the movie Die Beautiful, while Erik Matti won Best Director for the movie Seklusyon.

Here is the full list of winners of the MMFF 2016.

Best Picture: Sunday Beauty Queen

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award: Sunday Beauty Queen

Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award: Oro

Best Director: Erik Matti, Seklusyon

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Paolo Ballesteros, Die Beautiful

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Irma Adlawan, Oro

Best Ensemble Cast: Oro

Special Jury Prize: Rhed Bustamante, Seklusyon

Best Screenplay: Seklusyon

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Christian Bables, Die Beautiful

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Phoebe Walker, Seklusyon

Best Cinematography: Seklusyon

Best Sound Design: Seklusyon

Best Theme Song: “Dominus Miserere” Seklusyon

Best Editing: Sunday Beauty Queen

Best Musical Score: Saving Sally

Best Production Design: Seklusyon

Best Float: Die Beautiful

42nd MMFF My Most Favorite Film: Die Beautiful

Children’s Choice Award: Saving Sally, Sunday Beauty Queen, Vince & Kath & James

Male Celebrity of the Night: Ronnie Alonte

Female Celebrity of the Night: Rhian Ramos

Short Film – Best Screenplay: Mitatang

Short Film – Special Jury Prize: Manila Scream

Short Film – Best Picture: EJK

Short Film – Best Work for Children: Passage of Life

Best Short Film Director: Jarell Serencio for Mga Bitoon sa Siyudad

Posted in Entertainment