Davao Execs top 4th Tablon Chess team tourney

THE DAVAO Executives chess team stole the limelight by winning the fourth edition of the Tablon Chess Team Tournament played at the Tablon covered court in Cagayan de Oro City last weekend.

Having James Infiesto, Allan Diez and Romeo Baclayon on its roster playing Boards 1, 2 and 3, respectively, team Davao Executives tallied 12 match points to pocket P15,000 and a trophy as awarded by tournament director Fr. Vic Arellano.


CHESS CHAMPS Team Davao Execs which won the 2017 4th Tablon Chess Championship (L-R) Board 3 Romeo Baclayon, Board 1 IA James Infiesto and Board 2, Engr. Allan Diez pose with their champion trophy.

They edged team Barroso Farm-B having the cast of Nolly Cabilas, Ronnie Chavez and Darny Veloso which finished second with 11 match points as based on a tie break over third placer 7C Sharingan (Rodney Opada, Arbie James Calido and Jason Lawan), fourth placer Gingoog Chess Team (Ronnel Cantojos, Godofredo Tisocan and Kevin Alpuerto) and fifth finish RCANS (Romeo Canino, Aljie Cantonjos and MeAn Joy Baclayon).

The Davao Execs tallied its 12 match-points having won six matches. Barroso Farm B won five matches and drew one as match points were based on two points per victory, one for a drawn game and zero for a loss.

Barroso Farm B brought home P10,000 while 7C Sharingan had P7,000.

Individual honors went to Romeo Canino – Board 1 (RCANS), Godofredo Tisocan –Board 2 (Gingoog Chess Team) and Christian James Aquino – Board 3 (Christians).

Posted in Sports