2017 Kadayawan Invitational hoop| TRMH-CMO DLSU, FEU win in opener

Games today – Davao City Recreation Center

5 p.m. – FEU vs UST

7 p.m. – TRMH-CMO DLSU vs. DC Selection

 THE ROYAL Mandaya Hotel-City Mayor’s Office backed De LaSalle Green Archers and the Far Eastern University Tamaraws opened their title campaign on a high note after beating respective foes at the start of the 2017 Kadayawan Invitational basketball tournament played Thursday at the Davao Recreation Center (Almendras Gym).

TRMH-CMO DLSU nipped the University of Sto Tomas Growling Tigers, 93-88 while the FEU Tamaraw chomped on the Davao City Collegiate Selection, 87-66 to cap their first win in the scheduled four-day series.

Despite playing with prized center/forward Ben Mbala, the Green Archers had Kib Montalbo on the works scoring 20 points noting 14 in the pivotal fourth quarter that completed a comeback run. Down by six, 66-72 in the last two minutes of play, Montalbo drilled three of his four triples down the stretch that had them the lead, 88-83 and never looked back.

Montalbo was backed by Leo Santillan and Ricci Rivero who finished with 17 and 15 baskets, respectively. Guard Andrei Carracut also added 10. Also seeing action for the Aldin Ayo coached Green Archers are Prince Rivero, Aljun Melecio, Abo Tratter, Leo Santillan, Gabe Capacio, Jolo Go, Justine Baltazar, Joshua Gonzales and Brent Paraiso.

JP Faundo led the Growling Tigers with 15 points while Steve Akomo added 13 on a losing effort for the Boy Sablan mentored squad which also had Regie Basibas, Jordan Sta. Ana, Oliver de Guzman, Marvin Lee, Martin Romero, Enrique Caunan, Zachy Huang, Ben Kwawukumey, Justin Arana, Carlo Escalambre, Onzo Lorenzana, Christian Garcia, Von Soriano and Joco Macasaet.

On the other hand, the FEU Tamaraws had their game going on top of the Davao City Collegiate Selection anchored by the troika of Ron Dennison, Arvin Tolentino and Barkley Ebona. PBA legend Olsen Racela’s boys also had Axel Inigo, Arvin Tolentino, Kimlee Bayquin, Prince Orizu, Brandrey Bienes, Hubert Cani, Kenneth Tuffin, RJ Ramirez, Alec Stockton, JR Parker, Wendel Comboy, Joe Trinidad and Joseph Nunag on its roster.

The Davao City Collegiate Selection banners Nicole Barera (JMC), Patrick Quidato (HCDC), Ian dela Cruz (HCDC), Kenneth Aguanta (DMMA), Joshua Aguilon (HCDC), Jin Mijares (JMC), James Linares (HCDC), Redyn Arellano (Agro), Jhayston Oquias (HCDC), Marlon oring (St. JPII), Mark Francisco (HCDC), Mar Shiekalaby (JMC), Tony Suaybaguio (JMC), Ivan San Diego (ADDU), Vince Campo (JMC) and Dennis Villamea (Agro) with Ice Gravador as headcoach.

City Sports Development Division OIC Michael Denton Aportadera along with SBP-XI director Glenn Escandor and Atty. Mans Carpio welcomed the participating teams in grand rites highlighting the traditional ceremonial toss.

Posted in Sports