20 city councilors renew PDP-Laban membership

TWENTY of the city councilors renewed their membership to the ruling Partido ng Demokratikong Pilipino (PDP) Laban.

 The councilors swore before House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez and Rep. Koko Nograles (PBA Partylist) at the Mandaya Hotel last Friday.

 Council Majority Floor Leader Bernard Al-ag told TIMES that they ran under the PDP Laban during the 2016 elections.

 Aside from Al-ag, those taking their renewal of membership were first district councilors Maria Belen Acosta, Al Ryan Alejandre, Pilar Braga, Edgar Ibuyan Jr., Joanne Bonguyan-Quilos, Melchor Quitain Jr., and Jesus Joseph Zozobrado III, second district councilors Marissa Salvador-Abella, Dante L. Apostol, Ma. Cherry Ann Bonguyan, Danilo Dayanghirang, April Mae Dayap, Jimmy Dureza, Diosdado Angelo A. Mahipus Sr., third district councilors Victorio Advincula Jr., Conrado Baluran, Avegayle Dalodo-Ortiz, and Mary Joselle Villafuerte of the third district, and ex-officio member January Duterte, president of the Association of Barangay Captain.

 Vice Mayor Paolo Duterte, on his official Facebook page, congratulated the city councilors and barangay captains who renewed their membership to the PDP-Laban.

 Al-ag said “since I entered politics in 2010, my national party has been PDP-Laban. I believe in the ideology of this party, especially the shift to a federal form of government.”

 During the campaign period last 2016, then PDP-Laban presidential bearer and eventual winner Rodrigo Duterte has been pushing for federalism, making it his top campaign promise.

Posted in under_HEADLINES1