2 in narco list win in elections

Two of the three barangay officials in the list of narco-politicians in Davao region won in the recent barangay elections, the Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA) XI reported Wednesday.

Antonio Rivera, PDEA director XI, told TIMES Wednesday that a barangay captain in Davao Oriental and a barangay councilor of Davao Occidental in the drug list were re-elected.

Rivera, however, did not release any names.

In the narco-politician list revealed by the PDEA two weeks prior to the elections, the officials linked to drug trade were identified as Erwin Barabag, the barangay captain of Macangao, Lupon in Davao Oriental; Harold Mark Seteota, a barangay councilor of Bululan in Jose Abad Santos and Leo Gilla, a barangay councilor of Barangay Tingolo in Malita.

Jose Abad Santos and Malita are in Davao Occidental.

Rivera said they continue monitoring the activity of the barangay officials in the narco-list.

“We’re still conducting (monitoring) and planning (to invite) them,” the PDEA chief added.

The director said those in the list did not make any effort to clear their name.

None of them reached out the PDEA after the list was released two weeks before the elections.

Initially, Rivera revealed that one town councilor, two barangay captains, and seven barangay councilors in the region are into drug trade.

But the list released by PDEA Director General Aaron Aquino 14 days prior to the election period only listed three politicians – a barangay captain (Barabag) and two barangay councilors (Seteota and Gilla).

The three Davao barangay politicians are among the 90 barangay captains and 117 barangay councilors across the country who are in the list that was validated by four agencies, the PDEA and the Philippine National Police (PNP).