16 nabbed in Oplan Kalinaw

SIXTEEN persons with warrant of arrest were arrested yesterday by the authorities during the simultaneous Oplan Kalinaw conducted in nine areas in the city.

Davao City Police Office (DCPO) director Sr. Supt. Alexander Tagum said the operations also resulted in the profiling of 1,753 residents, including 138 without any identification card.

Tagum identified the apprehended individuals as George Verano (murder); Rasulo Inso Jr., Mernel Cataquil, and Virgil Sabarre (robbery with violence against person); Solamo Edgar Balanay (possession of illegal drugs); Dave John Batuon, Junmar Loon and Eva Jeolin (illegal gambling); Carlito Tipait Linasa, Anthony Roxas Luna and Bryan Laguna Solis (violation of cockfight law); Randy Navarro Ricalido (liquor ban during elections); Quegie Asna (theft); Creselda Cerin (bouncing check); Kathleen Dominique Aliño (SSS law); and Vincent Morales (reckless imprudence resulting in serious physical injuries and damage to property).

Aside from profiling of transient residents in the urban poor communities and the manhunt operation against fugitives hiding in these communities, the four-in-one Oplan Kalinaw also conducts community outreach (free medical check-up and giving of medicines and vitamins) and community empowerment thru crime prevention education.

In yesterday’s operation, 550 residents availed the medical check-up with 436 persons received free medicines and vitamins.

The three-hour operation, which started by 6 a.m., was conducted in the following barangays:

Barangay 14-B (Boyayang at the back of Holy Cross of Davao Colleges) under Sta. Ana Police Precinct; Barangay 76-A, Bucana (Purok 12, St. John) under San Pedro Police Precinct;

Barangay 75-A, Matina Aplaya (Del Carmen Seaside) under Talomo Police Precinct; Barangay Sasa (Km. 10, San Antonio de Padua) under Sasa Police Precinct; Barangay Buhangin Proper (Orchids Street) under Buhangin Police Precinct; Barangay Bunawan Proper (Punong Uno) under Bunawan Police Precinct; Barangay Lubogan (Purok 1) under Toril Police Precinct; Barangay Ula (Sitio Biao Tinda) under Tugbok Police Precinct; and Barangay Subasta (Purok 2) under Calinan Police Precinct.

Aiding the multi-agency operation includes Task Force Davao, Regional Mobile Force Battalion, Philippine Coastguard, Regional Mobile Unit, National Intelligence Coordinating Agency XI, Bureau of Fire and Protection XI, Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (CIDG) XI, Regional Intelligence Unit, RCDD, Police Regional Office XI, City Health Office and barangay health centers.


Posted in under_HEADLINES1